Em”power”ing your nap : A secret ingredient to increased efficiency — R Voice

Em”power”ing your nap : A secret ingredient to increased efficiency

Gayatri Ramachandran
Gayatri Ramachandran Member Posts: 172 ✭✭✭

Aren’t we mostly low-powered by lack of sleep at the same time driven by sleep depriving work or life goals? What do we do about it? 

Recently, ouR voice did see many acknowledging the importance of sleep in their self-care routine and how to revert to the traditional “early to bed, early to rise makes one healthy, wealthy and wise”. But reality is harsh, what with the life/career goals soaring high, we mostly end up drowsy at work and feeling inefficient, don’t we? 

Being a researcher myself, a woman juggling a family/home, travelling, my lab work, pursuing hobbies, left me disheartened and frustrated many a time that I couldn’t get to sleep well. I said “enough is enough” I HAVE to find a way to improve my mental power and get rid of this drowsy frustration SOMEHOW! Those were times when I didn’t keep a sleep schedule (or) when I kept one and didn’t stick to it. On one such unproductive day, when I was too drowsy to do anything at all and I HAD to sleep, I just laid down on my desk for around half an hour, having gone into very deep sleep. The instant I woke I felt so fresh!! Some infinite energy and enthusiasm that was surging all over me, rearing me to “GO, GET IT”. And that ended as an addiction, a positive one😍. Every noon around 3PM, post lunch when food an digestion added to the sleep deficit, I would get into very deep sleep- an intense power nap that makes the rest of the day much more productive than the first half.