Officially a Doctor! — R Voice

Officially a Doctor!

Shruti Turner
Shruti Turner Member Posts: 318 ✭✭✭✭

It's been a busy month or so for me, so much so that I've barely been posting and engaging on R Voice which is a shame. I'm making the effort to get back on here, as I love the whole community and its positivity. So, in that spirit I'm starting off with a celebratory post!!

As of Friday 1st October, I received official conferral of my PhD award..so now I am officially a Doctor! It feels like perfect closure after such a turbulent time and I've written about it in a blog (along with the rest of my PhD journey)

It's been an exciting time, if only now I am a Doctor, what else have I been doing?! Well, I managed to have 2 papers accepted within a week and I've been writing a couple more which are close to submission ready. There is always writing to do, even if it's not a thesis. I have to say...it's much better when it's not the thesis!!

This is a message to anyone struggling through PhDing over the past couple of years with general PhD uncertainties AND a global pandemic thrown on top...it is possible to get through and you will make it through if that is what you choose. You've got this.

Comments

• chris leonard
    chris leonard Member, Administrator, Moderator Posts: 138 admin

Congrats Dr Turner - so pleased for you!

• Jayashree Rajagopalan
    Jayashree Rajagopalan Member, Administrator, Moderator Posts: 175 admin

Congratulations, Dr. @Shruti Turner. Thanks for sharing this milestone with us. Good hear that you're getting those papers out too. Looks like good forward-looking strides in your career. 🙂 LOVE the message at the end - things may be rough or may get rough, but it is possible to get through. I think that can help us anywhere but most of all in and through academia.

• WoW!!! That's awesome!!! Congratulations Dr. Turner!!!

• Andrea Hayward
    Andrea Hayward Member, Administrator, Moderator Posts: 513 admin
    edited October 6