Inspiration behind the research: "I got into research because..." — R Voice

Inspiration behind the research: "I got into research because..."

Andrea Hayward
Andrea Hayward Member, Administrator, Moderator Posts: 455 admin
edited September 6 in Everything & Anything

Happy Monday R Voice family! 🙂

I know we all tend to be a little low on motivation and energy on the first day of the week. So in order to lift our spirits, I thought we could all use a reminder about why we started out along our academic journeys in the first place. Let's start the week by completing the following sentence --

"I got into research because ____________________________"

I want to hear about your research inspiration or the reason behind you choosing to pursue your current research area. Let's go! 🤩

Comments

• IKENNA EMMANUEL
    IKENNA EMMANUEL Member Posts: 5
    edited September 6

As a healthcare professional, my job lies in providing care for my patients. Following the many disease conditions prevalent in a developing country like mine with incidences of diseases (communicable and non-communicable alike), my passion is to find a way in meeting and mitigating the health needs.

My research is on 'Ocular health', a field in Optometry that takes into cognizance the pathologies that affect the human eye(ocular system). With the ever increasing plague of avoidable blindness, my interest is to provide a database on how these diseases affect the population and consequently affect the economic impact on livelihood. This will help in structuring a plan to meeting the needs of severely affected communities and providing treatment regimens to quell any further deterioration.

The eye is central in the body as many systemic conditions can be detected via the ocular system.

In keeping with SDG3, this is important as good health (good vision) is requisite for productivity. Without which, activities can be impaired.

• Omololu FAGBADEBO
    Omololu FAGBADEBO Member Posts: 38 ✭✭✭