The best ways to find collaborators... — R Voice

The best ways to find collaborators...

Shruti Turner
Shruti Turner Member Posts: 70 ✭✭✭

Figuring out next steps as an independent researcher can be complex. Who to work with, I think, is right in there as something to help focus on what to work on and how. It's something I am still new to and would love to hear how you have found collaborators and projects to work on!

I have some contacts from my previous university who are always great to chat to. They are a very open department and keen on collaborations (though I've never worked out how to approach them with an idea/project). Someone from across the world also got in contact via social media after seeing what I research, we had an initial chat and several months later they contacted me to work together on a paper.

I feel like these connections sort of happened by luck or circumstance, but if we are the ones who want to initiate collaboration what are the best ways to do that? Networking is always the one that I hear, but what happens after that (or if there are no conferences/events to go to in person!). Is it as simple as writing someone an email with a proposition?

Comments

• Raj sundaram
    Raj sundaram Member Posts: 182 ✭✭✭✭
    edited June 10

Great question, @Shruti Turner .

And the answer is complicated. Finding academic collaborators is as tricky as finding a life partner. (Honestly)

I am also navigating this. While I am not an expert - this is my observation and experience.

Mostly, collaborations happen by chance. Having a supervisor/group with established relationships goes a LONG way. Also, usually, group members become future collaborators.

There is a matthew effect associated with this (unfortunately - because individual talent/effort isnt the question - time/place/people decides).