My Journey from Insomniac to a Researcher in Insomnia — R Voice

My Journey from Insomniac to a Researcher in Insomnia

Soumi Paul
Soumi Paul Member Posts: 138 ✭✭✭✭

World Environment Day celebration, 2013, I was a postgraduate student then. For the first time in my academic life, I attended such a big conference organized by our Zoology department, Serampore College. An invited speaker showed a deep sense of gratitude at the beginning of her presentation. She can answer the curiosities of her mind through research. The expression of her satisfied feeling of what she earned through her achievements somewhere touched the 21 years old me sitting on the corner seat of the last row.

After that, life made (still makes) its way through many ups and downs to keep that same sense of curiosity alive. 2019 I joined the Ph.D. in the Plant Metabolomics lab of the Department of Environmental Biotechnology, Bharathidasan University. When I first met the supervisor, she explained to me the lab activities, encouraged me to think broadly to select a non-communicable disease (NCD) to treat it with a potential plant-derived phytochemical(s). The moment I began to think about which NCD to work on, insomnia and ulcer popped into my mind. Needless to say how sleepless nights and untimely manner of eating habits are almost part of daily routine in researchers life (something I observed from very close). But I went on selecting insomnia as this disorder is something I am suffering from since childhood. Hence, I seem to connect with the consequences most.